Rainbow Cakes


In the wake of the stupendous news from the other side of the pond (or from your own side of the pond, or the top of the pond, or round the back of the pond… it all depends where you’re standing), and with Pride celebrations happening across the world this weekend, I’m seeing wall-to-wall rainbows all over my social media. I’m delighted to see them. Wordpress is flying a rainbow banner at the top of the very page I’m typing on. Half my Facebook friends have rainbow profile pictures. My online world is a brighter place.

And it made me think – remember when I made beautiful rainbow cakes?

You don’t?!

Rainbow Cakes 128

Look at these glorious beasts. I’ve only made them once, but I feel like I nailed it.

Rainbow Cakes 121

Rainbow Close Lilac 2

Let this post serve as a reminder that I once made these, and they were awesome. If you want to make your own, I put together a Rainbow Icing Tutorial that you can have a look at. It uses more than one piping bag, and will make a dent in your patience reserves, there’s no denying it.

Rainbow Cakes 038

Rainbow Cakes 159

Rainbow Post-Icing

You, too, can get your Pride on in the form of cake. If you can convince a baking fanatic friend to make them for you, all the better.

rainbow-cakes-069

Rainbow Cakes 150

Be warned, though. People can come over a bit funny when faced with so much rainbow.

Rainbow Ruth

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

4 responses to “Rainbow Cakes

What do you reckon?

