Foodie Penpals April 2015


My first reveal post in a long time, and it’s a beauty. My parcel came from Egle in Lithuania, and she sent me so many things!

 

FPP April 2015 006

 

For the most part, the contents of my parcel were new to me. Egle also included a note to let me know what she’d chosen:

 

FPP April 2015 003

 

Cute paper! I don’t know if you can read it, but towards the bottom of the page it says ‘special sweets from blood’. I did a double-take, and then a triple-take, but it’s true – hematogen is kind of a health bar, which contains albumin from bull’s blood, and is rich in iron, vitamin B12 and vitamin A.

 

FPP April 2015 008

 

It tastes like an energy bar – the kind that’s made of dried fruit and is really chewy – but with a hint of, well, iron about it. I didn’t eat it all in one go, I must admit, but who knows? Maybe it still did me some good? This is probably the strangest thing I’ve had in a parcel, it was really exciting to try it! In the picture above, it’s next to a little bar of chocolate, with Egle’s home city on the front. This I did finish in one go – one bite, practically…

 

FPP April 2015 016

 

Another Lithuanian treat was a little boule of black rye bread. It doesn’t seem to have gone stale, despite the time it took to get across the sea, plus the extra time it’s been sitting in my kitchen (it’s been a busy week) – I think I’ll cut it into croutons for a salad this week. I could also toss in some of this cheese, which seems to have a picture of a viking on the front:

 

FPP April 2015 013

 

Normally I would advise against sending cheese by post but this stuff was vacuum sealed, and seemed none the worse for its journey. It’s tangy, mature and just a little bit fruity, plus it’s cut into little chunks already so you can snack on it. Do other people snack on plain cheese, or is it just me?

 

Something I haven’t tried from the box is this tomato and mushroom tapenade – I think that’s a reasonable word to describe it, though maybe ‘spread’ or ‘pate’ would be more apt. Regardless, I can see it being delicious on crackers, with some cheese, but maybe I could use it like a pesto? Or spread on bruschetta – oooh, or added to garlic bread! I’ll keep it sealed until I can decide. I like that garlic bread idea…

 

FPP April 2015 010

 

 

Speaking of garlic, there was also a bag of ‘garlic crisps’ in my parcel. I opened them on Monday after a looooong morning and afternoon of travelling, and they are very much the kind of snack you shouldn’t open if you don’t want to eat the whole bag. I managed to stop half way through, but it was a struggle. They’re kind of like Kettle Chips, thick and crunchy, but not as thick as I expected from the packaging. They looked like little crouton slices – imagine my delight when they were even more snackable than I thought they’d be.

 

FPP April 2015 020

 

They’re super garlicky, which is right up my street – I’m always putting too much garlic in things. Especially hummus, I am a fiend for garlicky hummus. They’re also called ‘bon chance’ which is fun, because it’s one of the few French phrases I know and when I’m pretending I can speak French this will eventually trot out of my mouth along with ‘il neige’ and ‘je joue au foot’.

 

FPP April 2015 019

 

Another item I haven’t tried is this potato pancake mix. I’m saving it for a brunch, possibly with bacon and maple syrup, though the box suggests a healthier ‘fruit and yogurt’ combo. Or is that lingonberries and sour cream? I love it when I have to scour the packaging for English words, I think it’s loads of fun, and makes me feel like I’m really trying something different, and special.

 

FPP April 2015 015

 

Linseed biscuits – these are dangerous. They are sweet, and buttery, but instead of chocolate chips they’re full of crackly little seeds. I love the texture of them, and found myself eating a few at a time, instead of just trying one as I’d meant to. I think they might also have oats in them? Safe to say, I’m enjoying them a lot.

 

The last thing, and something I can save for a day when I need an instant sugar rush, is this popping candy lollipop. Look how cute it is with its little bow!

 

FPP April 2015 023

Thank you, Egle, for a wonderful parcel. It was so full of things that were out of the ordinary for me – though you may think they are completely normal – and I appreciate how thoughtful you were in finding me all these different snacks to try.

 

If you want to see more of the parcels from this month, head over to our Facebook page where you can see photos and maybe get to know some of us participants. Then, if you want to join in, here are the links:

To join European Foodie Penpals, click the link or go to the dropdown menu at the top of the page.

To join US and Canada Foodie Penpals, click the link.

 

You have until Monday 4th to sign up for May – it costs nothing to sign up except what you spend on your parcel. Go on, give it a whirl.

 

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

What do you reckon?

