Review: Christmas Hamper from Grey’s Fine Foods


Just so that you know, this is a review of a product of which I was sent a free sample. The opinions in the post are, as ever, mine, and the review is honest. Please note my Patrick Stewart-worthy sentence arrangement in the first line there.

Well, who knew that this year I would get not one Christmas hamper, but two? I certainly had no idea – and I am counting my blessings, believe me.

This second hamper came from Grey’s Fine Foods, who are an importer of fine Spanish foods, based in Yorkshire. Here is what arrived at my door:

Grey's Hamper 004 Grey's Hamper 007I took two photos to try and get the scale of the box – and also to show how lovely the box itself is! I’m already plotting how best to use it, once the contents are done.

Inside was a selection of Spanish delicacies – I took plenty of photos, of course…

Some of the items, like the hot smoked paprika, the cured meats and the extra virgin olive oil, I was familiar with. Others, I know of but have never tried, like the gazpacho, the bonito tuna and the piquillo peppers. Then, there were the real wild cards – namely, the turron de Jijona (a sweet made from almonds, honey, sugar and egg whites), and the chocolate with olive oil and salt. I look forward to trying them all.

Time has prevented me from trying most of the hamper so far – I took delivery of the parcel yesterday, and despite the temptation have made myself save it all until the weekend. That said, I couldn’t resist popping open the olive oil, and dipping in some freshly baked bread. The oil is powerful, very peppery and full of character. It will be wonderful for drizzling or serving up with bread, meats and cheese – and the ceramic bottle is a lovely item to have in the kitchen, too.

Edit: We broke open the turron at a girls night this weekend. It’s kind of like if you made peanut butter out of almonds – so, almond butter… – then sweetened it and turned it into a block that is just firm enough to stand alone but soft enough to melt in your mouth. Now, in the interests of full disclosure, I have to admit that it wasn’t for me – nut butter is one of my nemeses. Can’t stand it. However, I was outvoted by a ratio of five to one, with no abstentions – the other girls really enjoyed it, and even had some ideas about how you could crumble it into cookies, or pastry, or shortbread…

This hamper would cost £50 from Grey’s Fine Foods – it’s known as The Charcuterie Hamper. They have a range to choose from, starting at £25, and containing a variety of goods from their collection, which also includes wines, sherries and vinegars. Standard delivery takes 3 – 7 days, though they do seem to offer a next day delivery service so you can make sure to have your hamper in time for Christmas. Based on the look of the items I received, and the quality of the little that I have tried, I’d say this would make a lovely gift, or a great treat for yourself.

Grey's Hamper 029

Thank you so much to Grey’s Fine Foods!

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

What do you reckon?

