Review: Zalando


Just so that you know, this is a review of a product of which I was sent a free sample. The opinions in the post are, as ever, mine, and the review is honest. Please note my Patrick Stewart-worthy sentence arrangement in the first line there.

If you’re looking for somewhere to do a spot of online shopping, and you have several hours to kill ooh-ing and aah-ing over every last image, Zalando could be the place for you. They wrote to me recently to ask if I would like to try their service, and while a quick glance confirmed that I would love to, it took a couple of days to choose which item I would really like from their huge catalogue. I only went through their kitchen section, too – they do so, so much more than that. But I thought, you know, let’s keep it appropriate…

I chose these almost unbearably cute chopping boards:

Picture from Zalando.co.uk

Picture from Zalando.co.uk

Click the picture to find them on the site. I wanted something I would really use, and that wouldn’t be taking up loads of counter space in my kitchen, but something special, too. I figured that if Zalando were going to be kind enough to offer me something for free, then I should make the most of it. That’s where these come in.

LOOK AT THE WEE HEDGEHOG!

The chopping boards arrived within a week, and they are even more gorgeous in real life. They were well packaged (which initially made me think they were a lot bigger than I had imagined) to avoid any bangs or bashes on their way from Germany. They are made in Italy of high quality wood, and the details on them are beautifully finished. Here are a few pics I took at home under my dubious lighting:

LOOK AT THE OWL’S WEE EYES!

AND THE SNAIL’S ANTANNAEAEANENAENE!

I got too excited for spelling there, I apologise. You can’t really see his antennae in pictures but they are there – two long strands of clear wire, so he can find his way about I suppose.

All in all, based on this product, I can tell you that Zalando sell quality items, and that their service is quick and reliable. They also offer free delivery, and free returns within 30 days. The website is easy to navigate, though there were a few occasions where the description was a little bit different from the way I would have worded it – I put this down to a translation quirk, and in fairness if you asked me to translate anything into almost any other language I would have severe trouble. There are such clear photos of everything that it’s hard to go wrong, in any case.

If you’re not in the UK, head to Zalando.com to get started – you can choose your own country from there, and get shopping!

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

What do you reckon?

