Foodie Penpals August 2013


This month, my parcel came from Christine in Germany. I let her know a few of my likes but mostly asked her to send things that she liked, or local things she wanted to share. I was not disappointed!

I opened the parcel to find a recipe for black forest cake. Black forest is one of my favourites – it’s a real classic. Cherries, chocolate and cream – what’s not to love? I haven’t made one in a long while, it could be due a revival.

RecipeNext were these fascinating spice and herb mixes. The Provence is one I have a handle on already – I’ve see Herbs du Provence in the shops here, so I know roughly what to do with it. This one has oregano, thyme, basil, rosemary and lavender in it. The Cherry Blossom spice mix ties in with the fruity theme of the parcel, and I can’t wait to give it a try. It has salt, garlic, wild garlic, oregano, basil, rosemary, thyme, marigold, rose blossoms and cornflowers. Wow.

The last one, Sunkiss Blossom blend, has curcuma (even after Googling I’m not sure what this is), nutmeg, cardamom, sunflower blossoms, caraway, marigold blossoms, orange peel, coriander, mustard, sage, fenugreek, cornflowers, paprika, fennel, chili, salt, rosemary, bay leaves, ginger and thyme. Double wow! I can hardly fit so many flavours into my brain at once. I think it might make a lovely mug of milky chai – what else do we think it would be good in?

SpicesThere was also this beautiful candle bag – when you light the candle inside it, it projects the pattern out in light and shadow.

Candle BagThe next things I took out was a selection of teas. Apple, cherry blossom redbush and then these three tiny, individually boxed teabags!

Apple Tea Cherry Tea Tiny TeaThis was great timing; I’ve more or less run out of fancy tea in my tea drawer at work, so it was excellent to top it up again. I’ve had the pear and white tea one already, it was delicate and light, and generally a lovely cup.

MIni Chocolate

These are individually wrapped chocolates, and they are All. Gone. They came in four flavours – cinnamon, milk, coffee and nougat. I told Christine I preferred milk chocolate over dark, and these were just the kind I like; sweet and creamy, and the adorable wrapping was a bonus.

The next item was another new one on me – white wine jelly. I’ve had a quick search and it looks like this will be great with cheese or pate – I wonder what else I can serve it with?

Wine Jam

The last thing was this big jar of cherry jam – my favourite! Cherry jam is the best kind, and it’s a bit more rare here in the UK. I’m so pleased to have a stock of it, and I have lots of ideas to use it. Little jam tarts, for one, but also just slathered over scones or used to fill a cake will be absolutely spot on.

Cherry Jam

Christine, thank you so much for a wonderful parcel – yet another great month of Foodie Penpals. Christine obviously took a lot of time over choosing things that I would enjoy, and that would also reflect her part of the world. It is really a treat to open a parcel like this, and know that your penpal has put so much thought in to it.

If you’d like to know more and get involved, you’d be very welcome!

If you’re in Europe, including the UK, you can find out more here.

If you’re in the US or Canada, you can click here to go to The Lean Green Bean.

And finally, to see all the reveal posts from round the world, have a look at the linkup post!

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

6 responses to “Foodie Penpals August 2013

What do you reckon?

