Guest Post: Homemade Yoghurt


Today’s guest post is another homemade adventure – this time we’re going to try our own yoghurt. No need for any fancy machines, though; Emma’s going to show us how to do it using milk and a tub of yoghurt from the shops. A very cool idea, and one I look forward to trying the minute I stop eating exclusively pasta (alright, and other low-maintenance foods. But mainly pasta bake. From a jar).

I’m Emma, my blog Adventures of a London Kiwi is an ongoing record of my adventures as an ex-pat, living on the other side of the world in one of the best cities. Ever. I love wandering, food, photography, reading and generally having fun seeing where life takes you.

Blogging itself has turned into a fun adventure, I’ve met some lovely people and gone to all sorts of places that I may never have come across. Long may it continue! I’m also going through a bit of a renaissance with food – instead of treating it just as a fuel and something that is ‘there’, I’m really starting to take notice of what we eat and making it a healthy, enjoyable experience – we have to eat anyway, right?

I’m so impressed that Carol Anne is now more than halfway thorough NaNiWriMo. Absoloute kudos – it takes a lot of passion and determination to do something like that, and I can’t wait to read it!

 (Note from Carol Anne: thank you! Emma wrote this post for me in mid-November. We are now in December and I *hope* that I’m now finished my novel, and that it is soon to be available from Amazon… 😉 )

When a good friend of mine told me that it’s possible and quite easy to make yoghurt at home, I just had to have a try and guest posting seemed to be a great excuse.

Making Greek Yoghurt…

  • 5 cups pasteurised Milk (or as much milk as you want yoghurt)
  • 2 tablespoons of unflavoured Probiotic or Live Yoghurt. Try to avoid any with pectin.

1.     Almost boil (small bubbles) the milk for 4-5 minutes, stirring gently on occasion to stop it burning. If you like a smoother yoghurt, boil for only 30 seconds – you can strain it later to thicken up.

2.     Set aside, and let cool to 45 °C (112 °F), or enough so you can put a finger in it without it hurting – this is really important as if you add it whilst too hot it will go manky, and the good bacteria you want to keep will die. Trust me, adding the yoghurt whilst too hot was gross.

3.     Put the lid on and wrap it in a warm towel, placing it somewhere that isn’t too drafty and somewhere it won’t be disturbed.

4.     Leave for 9 hours, stir through then refrigerate (until almost all eaten – see Step 7). It will keep in the fridge for about 5 days – that’s if you can resist its siren call of ‘eat me’ through the fridge door.

6.     To get an even thicker yoghurt, strain through a muslin cloth. If you like it cheesey, then drain for longer and mold into a block. Keep the whey liquid that you drain off though, as it’s delicious and great for a milk substitute in pancakes.

7.     Save back 2 tablespoons for your next batch of yoghurt, then you won’t ever need to buy shop bought ever again – just repeat steps 1-4!

Extra notes:

  • The thickness of the yoghurt will also depend on the milk you use, whole milk will be thicker.
  • Milk made from powder makes amazing yoghurt.

I’ve even done a bit of research, there is a science lesson in all of this (thank you as always, Wikipedia!);

The milk is first heated to about 80 °C (176 °F) to kill any undesirable bacteria and to ‘denature’ the milk proteins so that they set together rather than form curds. The milk is then cooled to about 45 °C (112 °F). The bacteria culture is added, and the temperature is maintained for at least 4 to 7 hours to allow fermentation

It’s scrumptious, and really satisfying to make, knowing that there aren’t any nasty additives in your yoghurt. There are even a few slow-cooker recipes for yoghurt.

Serve on its own, or with fruit, honey, you name it. My favourite way is with waffles and strawberries – my workmates couldn’t believe their eyes when I wandered out with this for lunch one day recently. I didn’t quite mention that the waffles are ones you pop in the toaster – shhhhh – that’s our little secret!

Thank you again Emma for this really informative post. You make it look really easy, and the end result is just gorgeous. Looks like it would beat shop bought any day of the week!

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

What do you reckon?

