Fillet of Beef with Stroganoff Cream – the Total Recipe Treasure Hunt


Those sneaky chaps at Total Greek Yoghurt are running a treasure hunt. AVAST, ME HEARTIES! Now, you know I couldn’t resist a good treasure hunt so I stepped forward to be involved, and because I am probably the only pirate who did so I was selected to join in. GAHAHAHAHAAAARRRRR!

Total Greek Yoghurt may now be regretting that decision. I hope not, though, because I’m pretty excited to be part of their campaign. If you check out the Total Eating section of their site, you’ll see that they have packed their pages quite full of yoghurt. Um. That is not the way it was phrased in the bloggers’ brief… There are 1000 (not a typo, literally 1000) new recipes for you to try, all featuring their authentic, actually made in Greece, Greek yoghurt. The skill levels range from just mixing to full on cooking and baking, so you will definitely be able to find something that takes your fancy and fits your time budget.

I am a blogger, you know, we say things like ‘time budget’ and get away with it. Forget about that, here’s the link to the Treasure Hunt, and a pirate COW.

 

 

As part of this campaign to get people trying new ways with yoghurt (steady on), they have hidden 30 different recipes around the internet for you to track down. The more of the recipes you find, the more chances you have of winning their Facebook competition. Top prize is £800 worth of kitchen kit, selected by top chef Paul Merret. Have a look here to see what the kit includes – there’s some great stuff in there. There are also two runners up prizes of VictorinOx Knife sets, worth £100 each. The stakes are high, folks (no pun intended), so get your treasure maps out and start hunting.

 

The recipe I chose to make is Fillet of Beef with Stroganoff Cream. Total sent me the ingredients to make this elegant Sunday dinner (minus the brandy, I think maybe they didn’t trust me with brandy) and I set to it! Here is there photo of the recipe:

 

Click through to get to the Total Greek Yoghurt site

 

Doesn’t it look beautiful? Now here is mine:

 

 

I just couldn’t live up to their standards. I did my best though. I cooked the steaks really rare, which is how I like them, and served with some simple, boiled new potatoes with black pepper and butter. Here’s the recipe, which I have amended from my own experience to serve two:

 

  • 150g Total Greek Yoghurt, or more to taste
  • 2 fillet steaks
  • 1 big shallot, finely diced
  • 2 gherkins, cut into strips
  • 25ml brandy
  • 1 small clove garlic, crushed
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 100g button mushrooms, sliced. The original recipe suggests 100g for four people, but I really love mushrooms.

 

Method (again, amended from my own experience):

  1. Season the steaks with a pinch of salt and a drizzle of olive oil, then fry over a medium- high heat for 2 minutes on each side. Adding the oil to the steaks is a sure way to stop them from sticking, rather than adding the oil to the pan.
  2. Remove the steaks from the pan and set aside on a plate.
  3. Put the pan back on the heat and lightly fry the shallots, garlic and mushrooms in the combined olive oil and meat juices from the steaks. That’s one of my favourite sentences. Once cooked, add the brandy and gherkins. The brandy will sizzle in a very satisfying way. Hold one arm up in the air as you shake the pan, and pretend that you are a chef.
  4. Add the paprika and yoghurt to the pan and gently heat. The recipe on the site does say ‘bring to a boil’ but I must admit to having had limited success with boiling the yogurt. Better to heat it gently and let it melt in among the other ingredients to make a creamy sauce.
  5. Return the meat and any collected juices to the sauce and cook the meat as preferred – I probably gave mine another two minutes on each side? I was a bit distracted by trying to rescue my boiled yoghurt from its curdled oblivion.
  6. Serve with spuds, rice, pasta or bread, as you prefer.

 

The key thing about boiling the yoghurt was that it did curdle and separate. I should have known this would happen, but it was easy to rescue. I simply added some more, cold yoghurt and mixed together; it wasn’t perfectly smooth, I’ll admit it, but it was much improved. I found that by the time the steaks were cooked, I needed to add more yoghurt anyway to create a lovely sauce; in fact, I left it quite thick, and used it as a base for the meat instead of pouring it over the top. You can choose whichever consistency you prefer, just make sure you have a little yoghurt on hand to add if you need it, and don’t crank the heat up under it too far, especially if your yoghurt is coming straight from the fridge.

Try this recipe out, or one of the other thousand (still not a typo) at the Total Greek Yoghurt site, and good luck with the treasure hunt!

 

Total sent me the ingredients to make this recipe, as mentioned above, but I received no other compensation for writing this post. I put myself forward to join in the competition because it sounded like fun, and Total Greek Yoghurt is a product I have used before and will use again. That is all.

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

What do you reckon?

