Pork Milanese


This is a post from the archives, and I have to say that even though I don’t consider myself a good photographer now, 18 months ago I was even worse. I’ve learned along the way that if I want to write a blog post, I have to take more photographs than will ever be necessary, so that at the end of the day I can sit down and whittle through them, but still end up with enough good ones to illustrate a whole post. It can add a good half hour to the whole cooking process, and I know that people sometimes look at me a bit sideways when I’m snapping away at plates of food, boxes of cakes, trying to get a good angle on a forful of pasta… I can’t write a food blog without photos, you know. Anyway, for this post, I only have a few photos. Still, I’m going to share it, because by gum it was delicious. A good weeknight meal, because it hardly takes any time to make, but it’s still a little bit fancy.

I started with two boneless pork chops, hammering each one out with a rolling pin until really flat, about a quarter of an inch thick. I like to wrap meat in clingfilm before I flatten it out like this, to prevent the rolling pin coming into contact with the raw meat. I also trimmed off the fat, because as has been discussed before, I can’t bear the stuff. Blargh.

Once the pork was suitably flattened out – a task which I know some people relish, finding it a good way to express some of life’s more  negative emotions – I dipped each side in beaten egg, then coated in fresh granary breadcrumbs. I found that one large egg was enough for both pork chops, and that it took three or four slices of bread to get enough crumbs for a coating. I put the bread in the food processor to break it up into crumbs, but you can also use a grater if that’s what you have. It’s trickier but it does the job. You could use any kind of bread you prefer, or even packaged breadcrumbs if you prefer.

Once the pork is flattened, egged and breaded, I put it aside on a plate until I was ready to start cooking. I heated a mix of olive oil and butter over a medium heat and gently fried the escalopes for five minutes on each side. The mix of butter and oil stops the breadcrumbs from sticking but adds flavour, the medium heat prevents burning and making the pork so thin means that it cooks right the way through in ten minutes, without drying out in the middle. Then you squeeze a skice of lemon over the top – very old fashioned, but it’s stuck around for a reason. The lemon slice abides.
As well as the ubiquitos lemon slice, I served the pork with a fresh salad of rocket, tomatoes and cheese shavings, dressed simply in olive oil and lemon juice. I also boiled up some new potatoes to make a hearty meal. All quick and easy stuff.

To get a more specific recipe, check out Epicurious, where there are measurements for the butter and oil. I *think* this is the recipe I followed, but after all this time it’s hard to tell. See what I mean about documenting everything?

This was the first time I’d breaded and fried anything, I’d always been quite nervous of it. I thought I’d be bound to burn the breadcrumbs, or that they’d be bound to all fall off in the pan and leave the meat bare like a freshly plucked chicken. The egg stops that from happening, thankfully enough, and keeping the temperature at the right level is the way to make sure you don’t scorch anything. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed.

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

9 responses to “Pork Milanese

What do you reckon?

