Mothers Day Afternoon Tea 2012 (and Devilled Eggs)


This year, my mum asked if we could have afternoon tea again, like last year. Of course I was more than happy to oblige, and Miss J and I spent a gloriously productive day in her kitchen cranking out a veritable feast of appropriate snacks.  That’s right – one day, in fact one evening, and we had all these awesome items stacked up in every single Tupperware from Miss J’s house, ready to go. The menu was as follows:

We served it all up on my mum’s good china plates and drank Sloe Gin Fizz from china teacups. The fizz came from Marks and Spencers, and I must say it was a real treat – sweet, sparkly, a stunning colour and enough to make you a little tipsy! Here is a slideshow of our tea party.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

A few of the recipes were sourced online (or from my own blog) – you can get to them by clicking the links above. The blueberry French fancies were made up on the spot, and went something like this:

  • 1/2 cup self raising flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 6 tbsp margarine (I hate measuring butter by tablespoon but needs must. It’s about 90g)
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 1 medium egg
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 60g blueberries

I mixed everything bar the blueberries until smooth, then stirred in the fruit and divided into 12 square silicone cases. I baked at 180C for about twenty minutes, then left to cool completely. When cool, I made a thick glaze with icing sugar and blueberry puree, which I poured over the top, scooping any runoff up the sides to fill any gaps. I sprinkled the top with purple glitter sugar and put a little blueberry on top. Done! Of all the things we made – and most were of Miss J’s creation – these were my least favourite, but once they were on the cake stand I warmed to them. They just needed the correct presentation.

My favourite contribution to the party was probably the devilled eggs. I’m bringing devilled eggs back, people – they are so good, and while they might be retro, ‘retro’ is just another word for ‘vintage’, right? Vintage is very on-trend. Oh yes. To make devilled eggs you first hard boil some eggs, one for each person, being careful not to over-cook them. That said, if you do leave them on the heat for too long it’s OK, mine were sporting an upsetting grey hue when I sliced them open, but once they were all mixed with the other ingredients, the colour was much improved. Usually I’d recommend putting room temperature eggs into already boiling water, and cook for ten  minutes.

Once boiled and cooled, slice the eggs lengthways, then scoop the yolks out into a bowl. I am a little hazy on the amounts of the ingredients I mixed in but I will take a guess… You can add different things and in different amounts, according to your own taste.

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 2 – 3 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1/2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp white wine or white balsamic vinegar
  • 1/2 a spring onion, minced
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • a dash of paprika for decoration

Mix all the ingredients except the paprika and a few pinches of the spring onion, until you have a smooth but thick paste.

Use a teaspoon or a piping bag, if you want to be fancy, to return the egg yolks to the egg whites. If your eggs over boiled and had a grey ring round the yolks, you can rinse this off the whites so they look perfect.

The one at the bottom is making a bid for freedom

 

If you’ve used a spoon to portion out the yolks, as I did, use the back of the spoon or a clean finger to pat the yolks into a more pleasing and presentable shape. If you’ve piped them in they’ll already be pretty enough. Sprinkle the reserved spring onion over the top, and add one dash of paprika from a height to finish them off with the classic red highlight.

 

Round the egg yolks into a neater shape

 

Finish with minced spring onion and paprika

These might be mostly thought of as food from the 1970s, but I can tell you that they were popular for a reason! I’m going to try out some new flavours with my next batch – it could take a certain amount of experimentation, but I’m willing to risk it…

We had a lovely mothers day (I still don’t know where to put the apostrophe) and were all well fed by the end of lunch. Here is a final photo of my lovely mum.

 

Love you mum!

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

24 responses to “Mothers Day Afternoon Tea 2012 (and Devilled Eggs)

What do you reckon?

