Tupperware Chorizo


I like the idea of this recipe more than I liked the outcome, but I think it’s a good starting point from which you can add and take away ingredients to suit yourself. I’d use less fennel next time, for a start, but that’s just down to personal taste. It’s a great idea and very handy to have a tub of it in the fridge, for when you fancy a chorizo without the expense or a trip to the shops. The recipe is here – Cheater’s Chorizo. I did love it over scrambled eggs, that much is for sure.

By and large I’m not a Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall fan, I find his recipes quite inaccessible at times. I once saw him cook a big load of fresh mussels that he had harvested that day by arranging them all on a big table in a barn, covering them in hay and setting fire to them. Now, it was a great idea, and I bet they were delicious, but it just doesn’t match with my own life experience, you know? Of course he does have hundreds of other recipes that don’t call for a barn, a load of hay or living near a coastline where the mussels don’t have whatever the mussel equivalent of three eyes is – three hinges? surely not – but I just have this perception of him as kind of a posh guy. Anyway, he’s not my celebrity chef of choice, that’s what I’m saying.

Once I’d made a batch of the cheater’s chorizo, I made a stew of chorizo meatballs, tomatoes and butterbeans. It was only OK, for me, though the G man seemed to enjoy it more. I just couldn’t get past the amount of fennel, I was getting an almost soapy taste from it. Here’s a photo of it anyway.

A pretty short post today. To summarise in list form:

  • Tupperware chorizo – good idea
  • Too much fennel – soapy
  • Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall – posh
About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

What do you reckon?

