Mozzarella, Ham and Tomato Bruschetta (or, Posh Cheese on Toast)


Do you ever have a craving for a food that just won’t go away until it’s satisfied? Sometimes I have food cravings so strong I can smell the food I want. It’s been like that for as long as I can remember, there’s no need for any raised eyebrows or suggestions of pregnancy, thank you very much. On the other hand, I am fascinated by pregnancy cravings, so leave me a comment and let me know what yours were or are! 

I recently had a notion for really fancy cheese on toast, which involved granary bread, mozzarella, thinly sliced ham, fresh tomatoes and some of my own complicated pesto, which I was finding many uses for at that time, to justify having made a whole bowl of it when really I only needed a few spoonfuls. I couldn’t resist the urge and bought all the rest of the ingredients on my way home, and had cheese on toast for dinner.

It’s not really a recipe, this, but in case you’ve never made cheese on toast before (or toasted cheese, or grilled cheese, depending where you’re from) then here is my method. I started by putting two slices of granary bread under the grill (or broiler, which I think is a really strange word) until they were golden brown on one side and just soft and warm on the other. Then I took them out and turned them over, so that the toasted side was on the bottom, and put on my ingredients; in this case, a few slices of wafer thin ham then alternating slices of tomato and mozzarella. I’ve become one of those people who smells tomatoes before she buys them, now, and I must say that since I buy them in the supermarket I am more often than not left wanting when it comes to tomatoes that actually smell (and taste) like tomatoes. As of next month I resolve to shop at the farmers’ market twice a month, even if it’s just to get a little fruit and veg. I remember when I was small I had a tomato plant in my bedroom, and the minty smell from the plant was really intense, it hit you as soon as you walked into the room. I tried growing another one more recently but I don’t have green thumbs at all, it didn’t end well. Farmers’ market it is.

To the tomato and mozzarella I added a thin layer of pesto, then put the whole lot back under the grill for a few minutes until the cheese and pesto had melted together and the tomatoes were starting to shrug off their skins and get comfortable. I seasoned the bruschetta with black pepper and a pinch of salt, to bring out the flavours of the tomatoes. There you have it; posh cheese on toast. It doesn’t really look like much but it definitely hit the spot.

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

What do you reckon?

