UFO Cake – Complete With Aliens!


Again, a post that contains many pictures and few words. The cake is made with (among other things) ground pumpkin seeds and pumpkin seed oil, which is a new discovery for me and quite exciting. I tried to get a photo of the intense colour of the oil, and of the cake mix, but I just couldn’t get the lighting right. Take it from me, it’s a unique oil, with a dark brown-green colour and a strong, earthy taste, along the lines of tahini which I guess makes sense, in a way. I didn’t get to try this cake, but the tiny but I did get while levelling off the middle level was lovely and sweet, with complex flavours and a cool green colour.

The icing is a dairy free white chocolate glaze, finished with edible silver lustre spray. I made sure that the icing didn’t coat my entire house by putting the cake inside a large carrier bag, placed on its side on the worktop, before using short, controlled bursts to coat the surface evenly. Clever, eh?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Recipe for The Incredible Green Cake

Recipe for white chocolate glaze (dairy free white chocolate buttons available from Tesco)

 

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

What do you reckon?

