The LC Roundup


A few recipes that I’ve tested for LC and enjoyed, but never quite got round to posting. Each photo links to the recipe, so get clicking, or just take in all the photos – either way, enjoy.

First, a blue cheese, bacon and honey tartine on sourdough bread. A tartine is an open sandwich – to me, that makes this a very posh cheese on toast. The flavour combo is as good as it sounds, though I did knock back the honey to my own personal taste… Sweet + savoury = bacony heaven. And to think that a few years ago I didn’t like blue cheese. I should have been burned at the stake as a food witch.

Next, the equally delicious sounding cider-basted venison. I served this with crisp roast potatoes, creamed leeks and asparagus tips. The cider and orange flavours complement the meat so well, and when you cook it rare like this it’s so very tender, plus the cider gravy mixed with the juices from the meat… well, I’ve run out of appropriate words that won’t make me sound insincere. This is a good recipe, especially if you love venison as I do; it’s possible, in fact, that I love deer more than cow. I’d hate to have to choose, though. Don’t make me. DON’T MAKE ME CHOOSE.

Here we have a somewhat bottom-heavy picture of some very simple bruschetta. If you’ve got some quality olive oil, garlic, bread and tomatoes you can’t go wrong with this recipe. I added shaved parmesan because I love dairy (and the causes of dairy, as discussed above) but that’s optional. Some basil wouldn’t go amiss in there either; the recipe does have suggestions about how to make the bruschetta fancier, and you can use your imaginations and, in a more physical sense, the contents of your cupboards to experiment with it. Imagination bruschetta… it’s a bit… ethereal…

Finally, we have spaghetti al pomodoro crudo – that’s spaghetti with raw tomatoes for anyone who doesn’t speak food Italian. I was skeptical about this dish staying warm enough once the cold tomatoes were added, but if you add them as soon as the pasta’s cooked it holds the heat absolutely fine. Or perhaps I was just really hungry that night… It’s more like a dressing than a sauce, the tomato mixture, but the oil means that it coats the spaghetti rather than huddling at the bottom of the bowl until you get down to the last few strands and find yourself with an excess of sauce and/or a shortage of pasta. This is what tends to happen when I make meat sauce for pasta, I make it really thick so the spaghetti has no hope of holding on to very much and you have to judge the ratio for yourself, and go fishing for mince at the bottom of the bowl with every bite. This is probably why conchiglie is my favourite pasta shape – it holds the sauce admirably.

I added some grated parmesan about half way through the bowl of spaghetti al pomodoro crudo; your favourite cheese would do the trick, though you don’t need it. That’s the thing, though; I can’t think of a situation where I’d *need* parmesan, but I can think of lots where I’d *want* it. It’s not one of those things you pack in case of emergency. Especially not in situations where it might get warm, though then it might have an emergency use as a biological weapon, of course. Like the bruschetta, you can play around with this recipe a lot to make it exactly as you like it, or you can follow it exactly and be sure of getting a good result with minimal fuss.

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

What do you reckon?

