Year of the Cake Part Nineteen: SH! IT’S A SECRET!


That was my Brian Blessed voice, in typing form.

I’m pretty much exhausted from making this cake, and there’s a lot to it, so all I’m going to do now is tell you what it all is and set up a slideshow to give you a sort of walkthrough of it.

The G man asked for a dinosaur cake again this year – not so much asked as said that he wouldn’t *mind* if I wanted to make him one, put it that way. I wasn’t really sure what I could do that would work. I didn’t want to do a 2D one after last year’s 3D stegosaurus, and also the stegosaurus is probably the only dino shape I can do without a special cake tin – a half sphere would be handy for a lot of things, a dino is one of them. I had a cast around online and found some very cute fondant dinosaur cupcakes – this, I thought, was the way forward. I wanted to do a full cake though, rather than cupcakes, so I thought I’d just make a few little dino guys to use as cake toppers, and while I was about it I thought that I may as well go for a three tier number, get a bit of practise in.

Two of the G man’s favourite flavours are coconut and marzipan, so my first port of call was to look for a coconut and marzipan cake recipe. I found one really easily, and that really set the tone for this whole experience; it’s gone so smoothly from start to finish. The cake itself isn’t perfect by any means, but I think that’s just inexperience showing itself – there was no stress, no upset, not even any late hours when I should have been in bed. I’ve loved it. To get back to the point, I got the recipe for the sponge that I wanted to make, and thought I’d like to make my own marzipan for the cake and to model the dinos from, so I looked that up. I then wanted to make a rolled fondant icing, instead of buying one, and looked up a recipe for *that*, too. Finally, I decided that I’d make a creamy coconut filling and covering for the sponge, before the fondant went on. I freestyled that part, you may or may not be glad to hear.

So, the result was: Coconut-marzipan sponge, layered with coconut-cream cheese-butter icing and finished with a rolled fondant with a hint of Amaretto. Oh, and a marzipan diplodocus (he took shape so naturally that I felt OK about him being the only one, instead of making a few as I’d planned). Once again, a bit of a mouthful.

Recipe links:

Quick and easy fondant icing

Marzipan

I added an extra capful of almond essence to the marzipan for a stronger taste.

Marzipan and coconut cake

Predictably I altered the cake recipe – instead of using the coconut only on the outside, I put half a cup right into the sponge, since I was icing it so there wasn’t any point having the outside coated in coconut that I was only going to knock off again. I also added two extra capfuls of almond essence, and even at that the marzipan flavour was quite subtle in the finished result. Oh, I also didn’t have any coconut extract so I missed that out. Method-wise, I don’t have a food processor, so I had to do it all using a hand held mixer. Learning to break eggs with one hand was fun, if a bit shell-heavy at first.

Here’s the slideshow of various pics from the process.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Rock Salt

Seasoning while rocking out since 1983. View all posts by Rock Salt

What do you reckon?

